The “busy” season

We all have them.  Those times of year when responsibilities seem to be non-stop and you have to make a list of the most important things to accomplish impact all of us.  And then, there are those times when it feels like  you are always in the “busy” season.  I work hard to stay consistent with blogging, but the reality is that it just doesn’t always happen.  I am taking classes to complete my doctorate, I am teaching an online course, and I am working hard to educate my children.  Throw in some behavior challenges and attempting to blog and I’ve got a crazy full plate.

Prioritizing is essential for homeschooling moms.  We have to decide on activities for our children, curriculum/lessons to cover, and our own sanity.  I have knitting projects that I’ve been working on for two years.  My husband and I haven’t had a date since A-Man was born, which has been 8 years now (A-Man’s 8th birthday is this month).  Crazy, I know.  The point is, we have to decide what is the most important thing to focus our attention on.  Obviously my children, their schooling, and my work responsibilities are at the top of my list.

I love writing and blogging is my chance to feed that writing itch I have always have; however, it doesn’t always happen.  I am one of those people who always has ideas floating around in her head.  Book ideas, project ideas, activity ideas, crazy ideas.  There is never enough time to accomplish all the ideas, let alone write them down, but I’m trying.  I’m cutting myself some slack.  I’m not perfect and in order to keep my sanity, I have to make choices.  Sometimes those choices involve omitting things to do what is essential during the “busy” seasons.  

I’m still here and I will post as often as I can.  When my course ends, I suspect the “busy” season will let up some.  When it does, I have some awesome things to share (once I get those things out of my head and on screen).  I will share things that I find.  I will drop in to say hello from time to time.  So hang in there with me!  I’m still here. 

Leave a Reply

