Our favorite Thanksgiving craft

Each year, I have a huge list of holiday crafts that I plan to do with the boys.  Each year, we only get to a handful of those crafts.  Mom has lofty goals sometimes.  But in that comes a blessing.  I find that the crafts that we do get to are ones that we all enjoy.  Sometimes the crafts I find look great, but the idea is that we all are able to complete them.  In my search, I have found one craft that I love repeating.  

I first made this craft when A-Man was around 3.  I don’t remember where I saw it but I am definitely not claiming to have come up with this on my own.  It is a shoeprint Thanksgiving turkey.

It is super easy to do.  
WP_20131122_001
The first step is to have your child put on a shoe.  

Trace your child’s foot onto construction paper or cardstock while they are wearing the shoe.  This will be the turkey’s body.

Have the child cut out their footprint or you can cut it out.  Let them decorate the body with crayons, markers, other pieces of construction paper for face features, and/or googly eyes.  We LOVE googly eyes!

Once the face is complete, cut feather shapes out of construction paper/cardstock/scrapbooking paper of varying colors. The first time I did this craft, I used different patterns of scrapbooking paper. This time, I used construction paper and let the boys choose the feather colors they wanted.

Once the feathers are cut out, have your children write one thing that they are thankful for on each feather. It is fun to see how their answers differ from year to year.

It is important to not guide them in what to say so their responses are authentic. Believe it or not, they’ll have the major components (family, friends, etc.) on their list.
WP_20131122_002 (1)
It was fun doing this with T-Man this year because he could articulate some things to put on his feathers. I did have to rephrase the term “thankful” so that he knew what I meant. I also had to offer guiding questions like: What people are you happy to have? What things are you glad to have?

Don’t be bummed if you get left off the feathers. I did! It just happened that we made this craft while Daddy was out of town for the week so Daddy made it on T-Man’s feathers but not Mommy! Remember the authentic thing I mentioned above? Yep, that’s about as real as it gets. I didn’t even lead him to say Mommy (even though a tiny part of me wanted to!).
You can even make this a family craft by having the grownups make one too! I love making mine with the boys.

Which Thanksgiving crafts are favorites in your house?

2 thoughts on “Our favorite Thanksgiving craft

Leave a Reply

