Flannel Board Fun- Letter A

When A-Man was a preschooler, we used the Letter of the Week curriculum.  If you are unfamiliar with this free preschool resource, you should really check it out.  Each letter has a series of songs, fingerplays, and poems.  At the time, I decided that the fingerplays needed a little bit of a makeover.  So instead of just using fingers, I created flannel board pieces.  

This is where my handy dandy laminator and hot glue gun came in handy.  I would choose one or two of the fingerplays that could be adapted with printable pieces.  I dove into my word processing program and created printable pieces to accompany the rhyme.  Each piece was laminated for durability.  In order to make them compatible with the flannel board I made, I hot glued a piece of felt to the back. Voila! 

My flannel board was super easy as well.  I bought a trifold cardboard science fair display board such as this one.  I cut the two flaps off of the side and hot glued them to the back for added support.  I then bought a yard of flannel from Wal-Mart and hot glued to the cardboard.  I even had some extra flannel to used for other crafts. Super easy flannel board that I still have!

So, for the letter A, this is the rhyme that I converted to flannel board pieces:

The Ants Go Marching

For this one, I simply created ants and cut them out and laminated them.  If you want to go the extra mile (which I did for some other rhymes), you could also create the accompanying items (thumb, shoe, tree, etc.).  When you get to the end of each verse, let your little one “knock” the ants down to the ground.  Both A-Man and T-Man loved this part!

Image

I’ll be sharing my flannel board rhymes for each letter so keep an eye out for them!

Leave a Reply

